What kind of contests are you interested in?

What contests would you most enjoy participating in? *Vote for your Top 3 Choices*

• art contests (e.g., design a Chronicle cover)

Votes: 9 42.9%
  • fanfiction story or poetry contests

Votes: 18 85.7%
  • humor (e.g., screenshot captions, Narnian want ads)

Votes: 12 57.1%
  • Thread awards (recognizing outstanding ones)

Votes: 6 28.6%
  • Golden Duffer Award (Who is the quintessential Duffer?)

Votes: 6 28.6%
  • Other -- Share your suggestions!

Votes: 1 4.8%

• Total voters

Benisse

Perelandrian
Staff member
Royal Guard
I'd like to get some feedback from you to determine what kind of forum-wide contests you would like to see in the coming months. So vote in the poll and post your ideas to this thread... Thanks for your input!

Does the "fanfiction story and poetry" option go for just writing contests in general? Because I'm not good at writing fanfiction or poetry but I can write short stories and much longer book length stories. Personally I like those kinds of contests, where you write like a short story or something and submit it. But we, ah, don't seem to have many of those here....

In response to Mewsies's suggestion I plan to host Recognition Awards of new fan fiction short stories or exceptional merit posted to the Professor's Writing Club between January 1, 2011 and December 15, 2011. Review of stories will take place during December and the honorees will be announced January 1, 2012. Hopefully these recognition awards will become an annual event on the Lawn. Happy writing!

Last edited:
I would say, stuff like Narnia, LOTR, or song themed banners/avatar sets, Wallpapers, etc... :D
Also a fanfiction contest would be interesting, but tricky. Might need to set a limit for how long it can be.. :)

Thanks for your suggestions, Lucy. I asked a friend of mine who is an English literature professor about a word limit for a fanfic contest, and will be making an announcement soon.

Sounds good...