How important are fantasy book covers?

MarkJohnH

Hi everyone,

I’m very happy to say that I’ve just had my debut novel published and would love to swap thoughts and opinions on what makes a compelling read. With this in mind, what do you think attracts a potential reader? Would it be the front cover like mine below or is it more likely to be on the strength of the synopsis? Just how important is the cover art and what really determines our decision to invest the time to actually sit down and read a book? As a new author, I feel these questions are very important, so any insights you can give will be greatly appreciated.

I think that a book cover can do much in attracting people:) because if they saw the cover they will know the story from within, example you can't use a ghost in a cover of a book of a love story,right?:D But be sure that the cover is great so that many people will really be attracted in the book. and the title must be very original. But on the other side of mine still the title is the one that can attract people and you know some people say that never judge a book by its cover;) By the way, Congratulations for the debut novel you published I'm so proud of you because I know how you feel, I wanna be a writer too someday. So Congratulations again and keep up the goodwork and GodBless and GoodLuck, if you need a help from anyone just go here to TDL and we'll be willing to help you, and sorry if my explanation up there is confusing, I was just starting to write my own novels. So Congrats again:)

Last edited:
Name and Cover attract me. First I see the name, if the name seems at all interesting I pick it up and look at the cover. I like covers that don't have a lot of pictures on them. Maybe just one article from the book that makes me say 'Oh, what's that got to do with the story?' Then I flip the book over and read the back. If the back seems like its any good I put it on my 'To Read' list. And wait till I can buy it or borrow it.

Hi everyone,