C.S. Lewis’ Space Trilogy now available in ebook Format for the First Time!

C.S. Lewis may be more famous for writing The Chronicles of Narnia, but his Space Trilogy is probably a close second among his works of fiction.  Today, HarperCollins is releasing the books in ebook format for the first time.  It’s the first time that HarperCollins is publishing the books in the U.S., as they’ve been published by Scribner until now.

Order The Space Trilogy for your Kindle:

Book 1: Out of the Silent Planet | Book 2: Perelandra | Book 3: That Hideous Strength

Press Release follows:

HarperOne, in collaboration with the estate of C. S. Lewis, announces the first English language E-book release of his three classic “Space Trilogy” titles–Out of the Silent Planet, Perelandra, and That Hideous Strength.

Standing alongside such classics as George Orwell’s 1984 and J. R. R. Tolkien’s The Lord of the Rings, the Space Trilogy follows the brilliant Dr. Elwin Ransom–a character modeled after none other than Tolkien himself–as he wages war against the powers of evil in universes familiar and unknown. Confronted by dark forces who threaten to destroy “The Silent Planet,” Ransom must travel throughout the galaxy in order to save his home, once known simply as “Earth.”

Including enchanting new worlds, an enthralling cast of characters, and an epic battle of good vs. evil, Lewis’ Space Trilogy is available electronically in English for the first time, offering a new venue for Sci-Fi lovers and Narnia fans to explore this timeless adventure series.

“The Space Trilogy books are longtime fan favorites,” says Mark Tauber, SVP and Publisher of HarperOne. “We hope, in bringing these books out electronically, that fans and newcomers alike will be drawn into this remarkable world that only C. S. Lewis could create.”

Out of the Silent Planet (E-Book; April 3; ISBN 9780062197030), the first title in this extraordinary series, introduces readers to Dr. Elwin Ransom, a Cambridge academic abducted and taken by spaceship to the red planet of Malacandra, or Mars. While plotting to evade his captors–who plan to plunder the planet’s treasures and offer Ransom as a sacrifice to the creatures who live there–he discovers he hails from the ‘Silent Planet,’ or Earth, whose tragic story is known throughout the universe.

The second novel, Perelandra (E-Book; April 3; ISBN 9780062196934), describes Dr. Ransom’s voyage to the paradise planet of Perelandra, or Venus, which turns out to be a beautiful Eden-like world. Horrified to find his old enemy there as well, Ransom engages in a desperate struggle to save the innocence of Perelandra.

That Hideous Strength (E-Book; April 3; ISBN 9780062196941) concludes the adventures of Dr. Ransom, who faces an epic battle against dark forces preparing an assault on planet Earth. It is up to Ransom and his friends to squelch this threat by applying age-old wisdom to a new universe dominated by science. The two groups struggle to a climactic resolution that brings the Space Trilogy to a magnificent, crashing close.

About C. S. LewisClive Staples Lewis (1898-1963) was one of the intellectual giants of the 20th century and arguably the most influential Christian writer of his day. His major contributions in literary criticism, children’s literature, fantasy literature, and popular theology brought him international renown and acclaim. He wrote more than thirty books, allowing him to reach a vast audience, and his works continue to attract thousands of new readers every year. His most distinguished and popular accomplishments include The Chronicles of Narnia, The Screwtape Letters, and Mere Christianity.

About HarperOneHarperOne, a division of HarperCollinsPublishers, strives to be the preeminent publisher of the most important books and authors across the full spectrum of religion, spirituality, and personal growth literature, adding to the wealth of the world’s wisdom by stirring the waters of reflection on the primary questions of life, while respecting all traditions.

Order The Space Trilogy for your Kindle:

Book 1: Out of the Silent Planet | Book 2: Perelandra | Book 3: That Hideous Strength

4 Responses to “C.S. Lewis’ Space Trilogy now available in ebook Format for the First Time!”

  1. Daniel James says:

    These books are definitely worth the read! They’re not nearly as “simple” or easy to read as the Chronicles of Narnia; they’re quite a bit more advanced. However, they’re still fantastic.

  2. James says:

    I’m a long-time fan of C.S. Lewis and his work. This trilogy interests me but I fail to see any pricing. Could you post pricing once that information becomes available? Thanks

  3. Clacir says:

    I live in Brazil and when I cluck the links I can’ t ger the price of each book for Kindle, nor even buy it. Dies anyone know why?

NarniaFans.com was created by: